Meet the Parish Staff

Rev. John Lesnick - Pastor

Fr. John was born and raised in East Baltimore. He attended Saint Elizabeth grade school, Patterson High School, the University of Maryland and Mount Saint Mary’s Seminary. Father was ordained to the priesthood by Archbishop William D. Borders on May 20, 1978. Fr. John did parish work for the first 20 years of his priesthood and then worked in the Health Care Ministry at Saint Elizabeth Nursing Home, the Little Sisters of the Poor, Frederick Memorial Hospital and Carroll Hospital Center.

On July 1, 2015, Archbishop William E. Lori named him pastor of Saint Joseph Catholic Church in Taneytown, Maryland.

Deacon Darrell Smith - Permanent Deacon

A lifelong resident of Taneytown, Deacon Smith had been married to his wife, Ruth, since 1973. He converted to Catholicism and became a member of the St. Joseph community in 1976.

Deacon Smith was ordained as a deacon in 1989 and has served as a permanent deacon at St. Joseph since that time.

Deacon Stanley Wise - Permanent Deacon

Deacon Stan is a native of Dundalk, Maryland. He is a WWII veteran having served in the United States Navy for 4 years and was commissioned to Utah Beach in Normandy, France. He has 13 years of college and has 4 degrees; General Education, Philosophy, Religious Studies, and Gerontology. He has three children, five grandchildren, and two great-grandchildren. He became a deacon in 1980 and served at Saint Phillip/Saint James Church in Baltimore as well as Saint Matthew Church in Loch Raven. He has been serving our parish since 1996.

Barbara Keilholtz - Office Secretary

A lifelong member of St. Joseph Parish, Barbara has been a member of the staff since 1986.